About Our French Quarter Hotel
From its humble beginnings as a grain warehouse, the building that is now the Bienville House French Quarter hotel has gone through many transformations to become the exceptional boutique New Orleans hotel it is today.
Originally occupied by Planters Rice Mills, the space became home to Thompson’s Rice Mill and Southern Syrup Manufacturing. By 1835, the building had been completely transformed and the North American Hotel opened. The New Orleans hotel was advertised as a “delightful summer residence for Ladies and Gentlemen.”
However, by 1837, the hotel’s owners had parted company, and the building was split into a small French Quarter hotel for boarders and a Fire House. Eventually the building would become the Royal Bienville, 20 luxury apartments that marked the revival of Decatur Street. By the early 1970’s the building was once again a New Orleans hotel that appealed to people driving to or through the city. After surviving a fire that destroyed a warehouse across the street, the 82 room “motor hotel” was purchased by the Monteleone family in 1972. The Bienville House hotel is still family-owned and operated by the Monteleone family.
As a member of Sterling Hotels – Preferred Hotel Group is a global leader in the hospitality industry, delivering high-performance sales, marketing, and technology solutions to more than 600 independent hotels and resorts in over 65 countries. Its family of brands represents a collection of the finest hotels in the world. Register to be a member of the iPrefer program to receive updates, specials and amenities.
Bienville House features TAG Approved® Accommodations: Presenting a unique opportunity for gay-friendly hotels, resorts and B&Bs to qualify with objective standards, and cooperatively reach and serve the gay and lesbian community.